Fossil fuels (e.g. coal, oil and gas) are the main source of energy for most countries. However, alternative sources of energy (e.g. wind and solar) have been encouraged for use by some countries. Is this a positive or negative development?

While in some countries the usage of fossil fuels particularly, coals, oil and gas, alternative sources of energy have been encouraged for use by some countries. To my mind, this suggestion can be viewed as both desirable and unfavorable development.

Transition to alternative energy sources can prove advantageous in two main ways. The most immediate one is using renewable energy sources can be efficacious. While it can be really expensive to set up, running can be cheaper compared to fossil fuels especially coals and gas. Using renewable resources are not only cheaper, but it also beneficial to environment. Using renewable energy can reduce carbon emission. When factories start to use renewable energies like solar power or wind, coal mine and gas can be harmful for people health and it reduce the suffering from health problems. In some countries, like Norway and chine they use renewable energy reduce the carbon emission and the level of health problems caused by pollution.

Alternative energy such as wind power of use the waves of ocean to produce energy are not without their drawbacks. The most concerning affect is that they are unreliable and depend on weather. When the weather is cloudy or not sunny, solar panels or wind power can find produce energy difficult. As the weather is not stable and we cannot completely predict the weather beforehand and sometimes predictions can be unreliable. Additionally, cost of setting up wind turbines or solar panels are really expensive. Poor countries may struggle to install or buy these staffs and it cause global energy gap between countries.