Fossil fuels (e.g. coal, oil and gas) are the main source of energy for most countries. However, alternative sources of energy (e.g. wind and solar) have been encouraged for use by some countries. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people are more dependent on fossil fuels, which leads to global warming, and as an alternative source, people have started to use battery-powered vehicles. I partially agree with this notion and will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of replacing fossil fuels in the following paragraphs.

On one hand, petrol and diesel have become very expensive due to the increased demand for petrol engine vehicles. Moreover, petrol vehicles cause air pollution that leads to global warming, as it affects human health and causes diseases such as asthma and breathing problems. For example, a survey conducted in New Delhi found that three out of ten people suffer from breathing problems, as it feels like passive smoking. However, people are now moving towards alternative sources such as battery-powered vehicles, which reduce the major concern of global warming to some extent.

On the other hand, although petrol engine vehicles are expensive, they run at a higher speed compared to battery-powered vehicles. In addition, vehicles that run on battery power have a higher chance of catching fire. For instance, a survey conducted in New Zealand found that approximately 40% of battery-powered vehicles could catch fire every year. There are not enough charging points available in developing countries to charge the batteries of vehicles, so it could be a high risk to drive battery-operated vehicles for citizens who use them as an alternative source.

In conclusion, fossil fuels have some drawbacks like higher cost and increased pollution. However, as people start to use battery-powered vehicles, the government should build power stations for them so this issue can be easily s

olved.