Fossil fuels (e.g. coal, oil and gas) are the main source of energy for most countries. However, alternative sources of energy (e.g. wind and solar) have been encouraged for use by some countries. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that most countries rely on fossil fuels such as oil and gas as their primary source of energy. Nevertheless, there are some countries who are in favor of using alternative energy sources like wind and solar. In my mind, the transition to renewable energy is both positive and negative developments in equal measure.

A growing use of alternative energy is a favorable change in some regards, and arguably the main benefit is to the environment. Unlike fossil fuels, alternative energy is virtually carbon-free, so the production and use of this form of energy would help reduce nations’ carbon footprint and ease pressure on the environment. This would certainly be a step in the right direction in terms of environmental conservation. This so-called “green energy” is also praised for its long-term reliability. Since solar and wind energy exists in nature in abundance, countries can use it without concerns over energy depletion. As such, guaranteed long-term availability of alternative energy minimizes countries’ dependence on fossil fuels as well as conserving them for posterity.

However, switching to renewable energy can also be deemed a change for the worse. The main issue here is affordability. Because there are exorbitant costs associated with the production, installation, and maintenance of alternative energy technology, it is largely off-limits, not least in countries where this technology is still in its infancy. Even when accepted for widespread public use, the public would generally be reluctant to use alternative energy as production costs involved would reflect in high energy prices. Moreover, as environmentally-friendly as it is, alternative energy is not necessarily reliable. This is because its production depends on weather patterns such as sunny and windy days. In this respect, turning to alternative energy to meet our energy needs seems an insensible course of action.

In conclusion, having considered both aspects of alternative energy, I would argue that encouraging its use can be both a positive and negative development.