Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore, every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Water is a vital resource that any living being on Earth cannot live without. Therefore, there is an argument that clean water should be ensured for every home at no expense. However, I mostly disagree with this statement because water delivery requires paid labor, and unlimited free water leads to wastefulness. In this essay, I will elaborate on my ideas and give examples.

Firstly, the process of delivering still water involves human effort and inputs. Since we live in a capitalist economic system, individuals cannot meet their needs without paying workers for their service and products. Workers expect to be compensated for their time and exertion as well as companies need to cover the costs of materials. So, people pay for things to exchange value. The money represents the value of someone else’s work or resource. In the water supply system, for instance, there are laboratory specialists who monitor water quality for harmful bacteria to ensure it is safe for consumption, and maintenance workers who repair and replace old or damaged pipes to make sure everything runs smoothly and safely. Thus, the delivery of clean water naturally involves costs that cannot be avoided.

Secondly, making water cost-free would cause overconsumption. Water shortage is already considered a global issue. If water becomes free of charge, it will worsen since people will squander it carelessly without thinking, because they do not see its real value and do not feel a direct loss. As a result, they tend to overuse it and rarely think about environmental impact. Alternatively, as water currently has a price, people economise it by turning off taps while brushing teeth, and using appliances like dishwashers or washing machines only with full loads. Additionally, aerators are often installed on taps and showerheads, which let less water come out of the tap or shower while keeping the water strong enough to use, saving litres of water daily.

To sum up everything mentioned above, charging for water encourages citizens to use it more responsibly and helps prevent waste. Otherwise, the water would be misused, and the water infrastructure would not work efficiently, as there would be no funds to maintain it.