Giving children and adolescents pocket money is common throughout the world. Do the advantages of this practice outweigh the disadvantages?

Providing pocket money has gained popularity among children and teenagers in recent years. Although there may be some drawbacks, I believe that the benefits of this practice far outweigh the disadvantages.

To begin with positives, one of the primary advantages of providing children and teenagers is learning financial responsibility. They receive generally allowance by their their parents. Thus, they learn can learn about budgeting, saving and spending. To be specific, receiving financial rewards teach them planning and budgeting like buying something gifts or toys. Furthermore, a sense of purpose and achievement may be appear in their mind. By gradually saving some of their pocket money, children can develop a sense of goal and pride. They also learn value of possession when they purchase something by money.

However, there are also negatives associated with giving pocket money. One of the main disadvantages is that it can lead to spending unnecessarily. In other words, children who may purchase useless things even illegeal things like drugs. For solving this problem, parents should make sure they have good financial habits which are their children can copy. This is because children watching parents’ personal choices. Another negatives is that, children may waste a lot of money for entertainment like gaming. In this case, mother or father should explain meaning of “no pain no gain”.

In conclusion, pocket money offers several benefits such as economic responsibility and understanding of purpose and achievement. However, it is important to be mindful of the potential disadvantages, including overspending.