Globalization is creating a world of one culture and destroying national identity. To what extent agree or disagree?

Via the internet, it is easier to spread various information; through technology, the gap between different nationalities and cultures becomes smaller. Therefore, the phenomenon of globalization is rapidly developing today. However, globalization could weaken national identity and cultural differences to a

certain extent.

The unique cultures and local techniques would be threatened by globalization. Domestic enterprises tend to import goods and products from overseas, which provide lower costs and higher profits for their companies. As a result, local industries and traditional craftsmanship decline, hence younger generations may lose connection with their cultural identity and lean toward global trends. For instance, since different fast food companies were imported into Taiwan, local fast food brands, such as Ding-gua-gua, faced significant operational problems due to intense competition. The percentage of Ding-gua-gua among fast food brands is no longer a major option for consumers. Additionally, local cultures and festivals are fading. People see Western events as more important than local traditions. As global commercial activities increase,

Western cultures and festivals become popular in Taiwan, such as Christmas. Global enterprises use digital marketing and import a variety of products to attract customers’ attention. Therefore, in order to follow the trends, people have started celebrating Christmas. On the other hand, local traditions become less significant for Taiwanese people. Owing to fewer marketing strategies

promoting local celebrations, they are not part of a global trend. In conclusion, globalization brings multiple choices to people and boosts economic development. However, it may create a one-culture world and have an effect on national identity. Thus, unique and precious cultures and traditions would be erased, and the connection between cultural and national identity would be lost as well.