Globalization is creating a world of one culture and destroying national identity. To what extent agree or disagree?

Globalization may be creating a world of one culture in some sense, but not to the extent where national identity is destroyed, in fact, other factors are declining as a result of globalization. Globalization is the transfer of goods, technology, and ideas worldwide. Through the production of technology, it has provided connections between individuals from different countries, further creating a bridge between the sharing of ideas and values. While it could be argued that there is a resurfacing of pop culture worldwide, due to the availability of technology, it does not inherently destroy national identity.

Many individuals from different cultures worldwide still value and take pride in their national identity through the continuous perpetuation of their cultural norms and values in certain societies, putting great emphasis on the nature of their culture; therefore, globalization does not destroy national identity.

On a greater scale, through the transfer of goods across the globe, fossil fuel production, the production of greenhouse gasses, climate change remains prevalent in today’s society. While globalization may not be inherently detrimental to national identity, it is to biodiversity. Through the implementation of more buildings, given that it was a company hiring new employees, this could lead to economic growth over time, however at the cost of the state of the environment. As a result of globalization, there has been an increase in deforestation, droughts, wildfires, further perpetuating global warming. Though globalization may not inherently destroy national identity, it does lead to the decline of other factors such as biodiversity, a prevalent issue globally.