Government should spend money on railways rather than roads

It is thought that despite improving roadways, states ought to allocate more resources to improving railways. I agree with this opinion and feel that rail lines have more benefits. This is due to the positive repercussions they have on the environment and traffic congestion.

Owing to their energy efficiency, railroads are able to offer environmentally friendly modes of transportation. Locomotives have higher fuel efficiency than other vehicles; hence, it is possible that they can lower the fuel usage and carbon dioxide emissions. For example, a recent study revealed that trains could emit fewer greenhouse gases other buses, cars, and planes which rely on fossil fuel. As a consequence, investing in subways might not only mitigate environmental pollution but also contribute to combating climate change and creating a cleaner environment.

Furthermore, funding for rail networks has the potential to ease traffic jams, offering an alternative means of transportation for passengers to avoid being stuck during peak hours. As trains can carry hundreds of people in a shorter time, compared to private vehicles, commuters tend to use more public transportation. Therefore, the number of motorbikes and automobiles on the highways is likely to be minimized, subsequently, decreasing road congestion and its associated negative outcomes. For instance, Japan’s expansion of underground tram lines and stations resulted in a smoother traffic flow, leading to reduced congestion-related problems and overall vehicle emissions.

In conclusion, I believe that government funding should be diverted to rail transport over roads. On the whole, subsidizing for rail infrastructure can alleviate the environmental effects by providing a greener transportation system and play a crucial role in congestion reduction by promoting the use of public transport.