Governments are increasingly using surveillance technologies to monitor citizens for security purposes. To what extent do you agree or disagree that the benefits of increased security outweigh the loss of individual privacy?

Nowadays, goverments are using observation technologies to monitor their people for security purposes. While some may think that this technology may interfere with their privacy, i strongly believe security and safety aspects may be more significant.

One primary reason on why people can benefit from surveillance technologies is that with proper monitoring of the surroundings, the amout of stealing and pickpocketing might decrease. This is because highly developed security cameras on the streets or inside a supermarket, for example, may actually identify the person committing a crime with a sole frame on the footage where they showed their face. As a result, applying such innovations may help not only govermental matters, but also mere citizens in their daily life.

Admittedly, some argue that the increased security benefits might not overweigh the cost of privacy borders. In almost any country an individual is in his right to keep his personal life private, whether it is considered ‘strange’ or not. For instance, people might get the idea of a totalitaristic goverment, which is often considered negatively on many layers. However this perspective overlooks the fact that if a person is not committed to anything illegal, he, most likely, has not got anything to hide.

In conclusion, although introducing an increased monitoring of citizens might cause debate around itself, I strongly believe that it will not bring as much harm or threat into people’s daily life, as not including it at all. Therefore, goverments should consider bringing these technologies into our lives for our own safety.