Governments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on foods and beverages with high levels of sugar. Some think these taxes are a good idea while others disagree.

Many believe that new taxes on sugary products are beneficial for the public while others feel they impinge on individual freedoms. In my opinion, despite the drawbacks, the benefits to health justify these regulations.

Those who oppose such laws point out the limits placed on less affluent customers. The wealthy can still afford to buy sugary foods and drinks as the taxes are small enough. However, poorer individuals will find that an extra few dollars for a soda or candy bar is prohibitively expensive. They will rightly feel the right to make choices about their own health and the foods they like has been restricted by government. Consumers buying sugary foods and drinks are already well aware of the associated health risks; they have simply decided to value short-term gratification over long-term health.

Nonetheless, freedom and safety will always be in conflict and this change is unequivocally for the public good. Sugar has been shown in studies to be more harmful that fatty foods and is one of the driving factors behind a variety of conditions ranging from obesity to diabetes to, allegedly, cancer. Soda companies like Coca Cola and candy manufacturers like Nestle have tapped into a basic human desire for sweets to attract customers and build their brands. Because they were allowed free latitude in the past, the only solution now is draconian taxes that can begin to slowly dissuade people from sugary products and eventually break down their dependence to a healthy, moderate level.

In conclusion, though there are class issues associated with taxing sugar, these are outweighed by their benefits to public health. Governments around the world ought to adopt some variation of these important reforms.