Governments make rules to protect people from danger, for example by making people wear seat belts in cars or not allowing smoking in public buildings. However, many people believe there are too many rules nowadays. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people rely on government in many ways. The government controls many aspects of our lives, and some question to what extent they should have control over people’s safety. However, it is evident that there cannot be too many laws. Laws forbidding smoking in public places and driving without seatbelts are good examples of this.

Firstly, it is not the government who decides what should be forbidden or allowed; it is all up to people whose will the government translates. For example, in 2010 in Saint-Petersburg it was decided by the majority that smoking should be banned in public places since it is harmful for everyone who is exposed to cigarette smoke. Recent research showed that since this rule was introduced, citizens health has noticeably improved.

Secondly, all safety rules are written in blood. Which means that all rules that are aimed to enhance people’s safety were written based either on real accidents or on scientific evidences of possible threats. For instance, usage of seatbelts did not become obligatory just because. Statistics shows that there are a lot less fatal incidents among those who uses belts.

All things considered, it is safe to say that there cannot be too many safety rules. Without those rules, the average lifespan would be much shorter. Moreover, for those rules to be effective, it is better to make them laws with the help of the government.