Governments often spend large sums of money on spectacular displays to celebrate national events of significance. This money could be better spent on improving social conditions in the country. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Whether or not governments should divert the money meant for the celebration of national events of significance to improve the social condition has evolved as a heated topic of controversy in many nations around the world. I personally believe that holding important national occasions has many benefits and so government should allocate separate fund for improving social conditions.

The first reason why national celebrations should be held is the time to remind people of the history and culture of the nation. For example, during the Union Day celebration, in Myanmar, traditional art forms are staged and ceremonial processions are organized. Moreover, these celebrations not only would make the citizens proud of the rich traditions of the country but also develop a sense of patriotism and a spirit of national integration.

Although a large amount of money is spent on colourful costumes, the best dances and the massive parade. Moreover, a large number of international tourists visit the country and participate this celebration during that time. Good examples are Venice or Ivrea Carnival in Italy and Rio de Janeiro Carnival in Brazil. And then they can benefit the country economically by generating foreign income. Furthermore, it also showcases one’s culture and traditions before the world.

To conclude, the money which is indented for holding important national occasions should not be improving the social conditions of the country because they bring historical cultural and economic benefits to the nation.