Governments should make people responsible for looking after their local environment. Do you agree or disagree?

Whether people should be held responsible for their own local environment protection by the government has become a topic of discussion. From my point of view, I firmly support this idea for a number of reasons.

First, because human self-discipline is often unreliable, suitable punishments from the government are necessary. To be more specific, if people are left to protect the environment of their own volition, efforts may vary between different communities since having an equal understanding of our habitat’s importance throughout the community is impossible. For example, all tourist attractions nowadays have to impose a fine on those who litter, because once such a rule is not in effect, all sites will be filled with trash left behind by ignorant tourists. In Ha Long Bay, Vietnam, due to a lack of guards, the world-renowned heritage site is blighted with trash floating on the water surface.

Another point is that, through educational efforts, governments holding people accountable for their actions in the local environment can help raise awareness effectively. Most people nowadays have a fear of missing out so once a green lifestyle is advocated strongly, it will soon spread widely. Take the inox straw trend for example, the movement started by a group of environmentalists was picked up by large beverage companies and has now become one of the most profitable businesses the world over. The same effect may not be achieved if the movement was a policy implemented by the government. Furthermore, initiatives can be taken to prompt individuals to make small changes such as reducing the frequency of their travels, which can help reduce the overall carbon footprint.

To sum up, the government making people responsible towards their own environment is indisputable. By means of educational campaigns and suitable punishments, more meaningful changes can be made from the individual’s side.