Governments should spend more money on medical research and less on researching the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that it is necessary for governments to allocate more budget on medical research rather than on environmental research. To my view, I agree with this idea according to the benefits they bring to human life.

Many outcomes of medical research have helped patients overcome their health issue and make amazing breakthrough in scientific world. As regard to the former, deepening research into the roots of some chromatic illness such as : cancers or hypertension allows scientists to find out solutions which extend the patients’ life. In recent years, deeper investigation into the genetic causes of cancer has led to the development of targeted therapies, which significantly improve survival rates and reduce side effects compared to traditional chemotherapy. Additionally, medical research also helps scientists predict potential epedemic in the future. For instance, through continuous medical research and disease monitoring, scientists indentified the re-emergence of monkeypox and predicted its potential to spread globally, allowing governments to implement early containment measures.

However, environmental research also plays important roles in human life to some extent reasons. Firstly, environmental research give scientists useful data which allow them to predict the following natural disasters. For instance, by the data of annual rainfall, the monitors can recognise when the next storm come, the intensity or even the scale of residents will be impacted. Moreover, environment is also important source of economy. People export many crops and flowers to take income, so if the environment is damaged, the soil may not be good enough to plant crops, the agriculture failure initially reduce the economic growth. For example, many developing countries as Vietnam or Laos rely mostly on the development of agriculture, if the environmental disaster take place, many people will be in trouble and even lead to redundancy. As a result, the economic process is slowed down to re-establish the facilities which is damaged.

In conclusion, despite benefits of medical research, I still believe that the government should allocate more on the environment in order to help people prepare for upcoming disasters.