Handwriting today is less formal than it was in the past. What are the causes of this change? Is it a positive or negative development?

in the contemporary world, the popularity of handwriting has been on a continuous decline as opposed to its heyday back in the 19s when there was no alternative. This is mainly because of the advancements accomplished in the field of technology, which have caused people to switch towards sending online emails and using instant message sharing tools to communicate, thereby, completely substituting handwriting as a method of communication. This phenomenon seems to be multifaceted with both positive and negative developments.

To begin, as we are living in a modernized world with the most state-of-the-art technologies, the digitalization of letters written by hand is getting developed extremely to replace this old method which is slow and limited in inclusivity. That’s why people prefer to use instant message sharing application as they give them the chance to send personal messages, videos and voice recordings in a matter of seconds to even someone located in the farthest part of the world. In contrast to letters written by hand, digitalized solutions cannot be interrupted or lost during the process, which puts them one step ahead of the race. Moreover, the most critical cases can easily be solved, showing prompt reactions to thousands of emergency situations all around the world.

However, handwriting is active and unlikely to be changed in some environmental requisities, such as schools and government agencies. Handwriting is perceived as a pragmatic method of learning by most students at schools, making it easier to memorise and coceptualize the most challenging formulas and equations in math and physics. Furthermore, the majority of governments prefer to use letters written by hand as it seems more official to notify residents and other governing powers.

In conclusion, the reason for the decline of using handwritten letters can be attributed to the rise in technologies. While some people may see this trend as a negative as there is high possibility of hindering handwriting skills and loss of traditional way of communication, others believe it is way more effective because of helping people stay connected with others constantly and tackling some issues more easily.