Handwriting today is less formal than it was in the past. What are the causes of this change? Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, handwriting is considered to be more casual than it was years ago. This occurs because of printing innovation. I believe that this is a positive development due to several reasons.

Big innovation in printing technology is one of the main causes of why handwriting becomes less formal. Today, all formal activities requiring letters are using printed text, leaving handwriting as a form of casual interpersonal writing. Uniformity in printing is what people need for their formal usage. For example, the oldest post company in Indonesia, Pos Indonesia, has left its old method of handwriting accounting report and shifted to printing in 1960 when the first digital printing device entered the country, in order to manage its precise accountability of report.

The shifting perspective of handwriting from a formal to a casual writing is a positive development because it is less effective and efficient in escpecially in time consumption for writing. To illustrate this, to write ten single-page letters by hand will take around 30 minutes. Conversely, writing the same amount of letter only consume 10 minutes in advance. In addition, handwriting also makes more misinterpretations on the reader side because its form and readibility differs from one writer to another. With this drawbacks, it is just natural to leave handwriting for formal purposes.

In conclusion, handwriting is more casual nowadays than it used to be due to innovative inventions in printing and it is a positive improvement because of handwriting is less effective and tends to mislead the readers.