Happiness is very important to individuals, but it is very hard to define. Why is happiness hard to define? What is your definition of happiness?

Everybody considers happiness as a vital part of leading a happy life but the perception of happiness completely differs from one another. Many people claim that happiness is a term that is extremely difficult to define. From my perspective, happiness is what I am going to mention below.

On the one hand, due to its abstract meaning, it is really hard for happiness to be clarified. Clearly, at the specific phase of age, this word can be considered differently. In the 20s, for example, people may feel satisfied when pursuing their pleasure and getting a job promotion. In the next ten years, when their jobs are relatively stable, getting married or having family gatherings can be the most fascinating goals they desire to reach. Moreover, from middle age, it is undeniable that possessing a healthy body is a true happiness for each person.

It seems to me that happiness comes from two main sources – inside and outside. Internal happiness is things belonging to an individual’s mindset, thoughts, and emotions. I will take my friend’s story as an example. Jessica’s internal happiness allows her to find fulfillment and joy in her daily life. She takes time for self-care, engaging in activities that bring her happiness and nourish her well-being, such as singing, journaling, and pursuing her hobbies. Regardless of external circumstances, Sarah’s internal happiness remains unchanged. On the contrary, external happiness can be exemplified by a person whose happiness is derived from external factors and experiences. Specifically, some individuals may find great fulfillment in the acquisition of wealth and financial success. For them, the accumulation of a significant amount of money and material possessions serves as a source of delight. Conversely, the others greatly emphasize the significance of relationships and emotional connections for their happiness. These individuals receive immense satisfaction and happiness from the bonds they form with others and appreciate the support, and companionship that relationships provide.

To sum up, joy encompasses various definitions that can differ based on individuals’ perspectives and experiences. I am of the opinion that happiness plays an irreplaceable part in all circumstances to enhance the fascinating nature of life.