Health experts claim that walking is the best exercise. However people are walking less on a daily basis. What has caused this and what can be done about it?

Walking is considered the best exercise for some experts, nevertheless, most people nowadays do not walk as much as they should. In this essay, I will present the causes of this development and possible measures which could minimize the problem.

To begin with, there are numerous reasons individuals have stopped going for walks. One among the most significant ones in my opinion is safety. There are many neighbourhoods where people do not feel safe to cross them. For instance, those areas which have high crime rates. Furthermore, another equally important reason is time. Individuals nowadays do not have much time to exercise. This is mainly because they work too many hours. People are already exhausted after work, therefore they do not go for walks.

In order to deal with this issue, I believe that it is very crucial to persuade individuals about the health benefits of walking and encourage them to devote time to exercise. The media could help with both of these by advertising the benefits and safe places for walking in the city. Moreover, people who work too many hours and do not have much time could try going to their work by foot if it is nearby.

All in all, despite the numerous health benefits of walking, people are walking less on a daily basis. My firm belief is that the primary reasons for this situation are safety and time. Individuals do not feel safe to cross some neighbourhoods or have the time to exercise nowadays. Consequently, the media could help mitigate this issue by advertising the benefits of walking and safe areas in the city and employers could try walking to work.