Healthcare should always be funded by goverenment, and it should always be free for people to use. To what extent do not you agree or disagree with this idea?

Over the last few decades, it has been a subjective matter whether the government should take on the funding of public healthcare or not. Many people argue that health services should be completely free for the public as the state is in charge of guaranteeing people’s good health condition and taxes gathered from citizens should pay off. I partially agree with this idea and think that even if fees will serve for enhancement of facilities and quality of service which government provide, making the medicine free helps to maintain the balance and inhibits discrimination within society.

On the one hand, it is an undeniable fact that in order to sustain modern challenges and combat high-risky diseases, clinics should be equipped with the latest technologies. In this way, fares come from patients, which would help a lot as up-to-date machines cost a fortune. In addition, the annual renovation of buildings, construction of new clinics, or providing medical staff with salary also require high funds. Thus, enacting the fee-paying system in medicine would be in favor of both government and civilians.

On the other hand, people have solid reasons to require free medical service. It is true that people do pay taxes per annum, and they have a right to call for healthcare with good quality since taxes are paid by citizens and embody a whole budget. From the legislation side, the purpose of taxation is to provide public service in response to public trust and money. For instance, the 146 state out of 193 members of the UN have enacted free medicine, and it would be impractical to demand money from people to get access to treatment.

In addition, implementing free check-ups is important from moral aspects, too. To explain, by this phenomenon, all people will receive the same way of treatment regardless of him or her public status. Even the people with low income can go to the same clinic with rich people, and poverty would no longer be a barrier to keep healthy.

To conclude, although payments could be basis to improvement of facilities, from my standpoint, it is a duty of the government to provide free medical services due to the moral and legal aspects.