High-level computer skills are a necessary factor for a successful career. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that in today’s society, high-tech computer skills are essential for career success. Although it is true that computer skills play a increasingly role in today’s world, I tend to believe that there are more essential and important skills than computer skills.

One viewpoint is that not all industries need the computer skills, especially some traditional industry. Some industries’ success depends on their specialized skills. For example, doctors’ success depends more on practical operational experience, rather than the data analysis ability. The success of a director depends more on her creative ability and the ability to cooperate and communicate, rather than the ability to use the software such as Python.

On the other hand, it is widely believed in today’s society that some soft skills also play a crucial role in achieving success at work, such as interpersonal communication skills and teamwork ability. That is to say, an employee who lacks in emotional intelligence, even if they has a strong technical skills, will gradually be marginalized in the workplace. Therefore, we should not overemphasize computer technology while neglecting the influence of soft skills on teamwork.

It is true that nowadays with the economic development, Internet industry developing rapidly, people who are talented in computer skills can complete complex tasks more efficiently, as technology enables faster and more accurate work processes. All of those could save time for the company which means reducing the operating costs. The demand for employees with computer skills has increased among high-tech companies. With the enhanced competitiveness of skilled workers in the job market, job seekers can usually obtain higher salaries, which means they have a successful career.

In summary, I think high-level computer skills are not a necessary factor for a successful career, as not all industries require them. At the same time, the soft skills also play an important role in career success.