Homework is necessary for students' academic success. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

In order for a student to become more successful in academic skills, it is enough to do home assignments on a regular basis. I strongly agree with this statement since homework improves academic performance of students and encourages independent learning.

One of the main reasons why it is necessary to do hometasks is that they may strengthen learners’ academic abilities. Regular homework allows students to comprehend learning materials better and memorize them in a short-time period. For example, personally, during school years such theoretical subjects as history, literature and biology were difficult for me to understand. That time, only with the help of homework I was able to pass those subjects without having any problems.

The second reason for the necessity of home assignments is that it helps students to be independent during their learning journey. Learners learn to research information and find possible solutions on their own. For instance, after making mistakes in a grammar exercise, students can review the rules and correct their errors independently. Therefore, if a student wants to take responsibility for one’s own learning it is essential to complete all the homework given by teachers regularly.

Overall, in my opinion, homework is beneficial to develop students’ autonomy and boost their academic performance.