Homework. Too much money is wasted on repairing old buildings that should be used to knock them down and build new ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society historical ancient buildings take a great piece in residents’s cultural awareness among all strata of the population. However, I wholeheartedly believe that repairing them in many cases is unacceptable extortionate, and if they do not provide any massive beneficial outcomes aside from cultural aspects, they must be demolished.

To commence with, history has always been an unexclusive feature for any nation, and it is often implied that we should preserve it as a link to our past. Historical jewels are reflected in monuments, parks, cathedrals and museums. Nevertheless, the significant part of modern society is suffering from poverty for decades. According to the relevant data: 27,9% of kids are leaving in extreme poverty in the 21st century. Also, about 15% of adults live below the poverty line. This issue is expressed in lack of food, medical supplies and even housing, but in the space from demolished building it will be possible to build more block of flats by lower price for poor people, and moreover create new contemporary building will create more career opportunities and vacancies for engineers and builders, which will influence beneficially on economic growth. All these instead of spending millions for restoring ancient buildings. I can’t deny that cultural aspects are important too, but to see the value below it’s required to cover all basic human needs initially.

Moving forward, ordinary old buildings are made by an architectures hundreds years ago without any modern technics just by labour. These means that their old structures and outdated materials are making building frequently ill-suited and might cause an unfortunate incident because of its age. Retrofitting them to an initial condition, provide a proper fire alert system and install all the benefits of civilization additionally is prohibitedly expensive. In many cases, much cheaper will be start afresh. Furthermore, Safety must be prioritised by both society and government regardless on the social strata.

In conclusion, while historical preservation has its place, it should not come at the expense of progress and prudent financial management. The economic advantages of new, efficient buildings, combined with the critical importance of modern safety and accessibility, make a compelling case for demolishing old structures. Consequently, I strongly agree that a prohibition on wasting money on costly repairs and instead invest in building will cause positively in our untied future.