Housing is a basic necessity for everyone. Therefore, government should provide free housing for people who cannot afford to pay it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Housing is one of human’s basic need to function and for those who is in need for this, access to free housing ought to be given. I completely agree with this view on the grounds that it is governments duty to assist them.

Admittedly, there are some drawbacks of providing free houses. One of the primary concerns associated with this is the potential compromise on quality. In an effort to keep costs low, some housing units’ developments may use cheaper materials or cut concerns in construction, affecting the quality of houses and leading to poor design. Another point to consider is that free housing is available in limited supply, despite the demands. High competitions for those houses can make it challenging to secure a place. Furthermore, it is likely that this may lead to racial segregation. This will not only separate colored people from white people them physically but also affect the lives of people. Segregated communities often lack access to high paid jobs, business, and features.

Nevertheless, there are several reasons why I believe that governments should provide free houses. First and foremost, they will have opportunity to develop neglected areas. By offering housing in those areas, they can encourage new residents and businesses. This may improve infrastructure and develop economic activities there, which benefits the economy. Moreover, those individuals, who were provided houses, will allocate more of their income towards other essential needs, such as education and healthcare. This, in turn, would lead to economic growth. In societal level, this policy may improve the quality of life for many people. As a result, this may reduce the stress associated with housing insecurity, having better mental and physical health outcomes.

In conclusion, it is true that there may be racial segregation, quality concerns, and limited availability of free houses, but to me this is not strong enough to not to provide free houses. Free houses help governments by developing the economy and also benefit people.