Human activities have negative effect on plant and animal species. Some people think it is too late to do anything about this problem. Others believe that effective measures can be taken to improve this situation

Historically, human activities had an adverse effect on flora and fauna. This inexorable trend towards the global crisis has sparked debates on whether it is possible or not to take actions, with one school of thought claiming that the issues are beyond repair, whereas another contends that the window of opportunity is still open. While both views are worth considering, I wholeheartedly believe that individual actions can make a difference.

Proponents of remaining indifferent to environmental damage argue that individual efforts are futile, i.e. they do not yield any meaningful outcomes. Given the seemingly irreversible nature of human-induced harm, doubts about the practicality of further environmental conservation still persist among communities. If people had tried to adopt sustainable habits – say, recycle more or use less plastic – they would not be able to eliminate the pre-existing environmental issues due to their large scale.

As compelling as those arguments might appear, some supporters hold that we have not crossed the tipping point. In the past, people demonstrated their significant levels of resilience and adaptability towards life-threating challenges, meaning societies are able to reverse the ecological consequences by choosing a greener path. Although issues, like ocean acidification, are nearly impossible to address, adopting eco-friendly initiatives might mitigate the issue, preventing further damage. A case in point is Singapore, which successfully implemented those sustainable practices. Were such initiatives to be taken by other countries, the relationship between humans and the environment could be improved.

In my opinion, even small actions can make a substantial difference. Though we can try to address escalating issues, like air pollution, climate change, animal extinction, the outcomes cannot be ensured to be tangible. Negligence, on the other hand, might lead to more dire implications, as the ecological changes directly affect human survival. A striking example can be the village around the Lake Tanganyika. Rising temperatures pushed locals to the brink of famine in that the habitats of local species – the primary food source for local communities – are being lost. In this context, international collaboration is of paramount importance at least to minimize the ramifications faced by developing nations.

In conclusion, acknowledging the validity of views, I contend that the most forward-thinking strategy is to continue investing effort, albeit piecemeal, to this problem.