Humans should not be held responsible for the care of the environment, or what happens to the planet. Discuss whether you agree or disagree with the above statement.

Humans are the most spread species on the planet Earth, hence protecting and taking care of it is regarded as compulsory. However, is it really our responsibility?

Many people believe that humans as the largest community should be shielding and preventing possible destructive means from the planet. This group of people has a valid standing point because a big amount of issues that are destroying the planet are caused by humans’ work. For instance, people could be throwing trash to the ocean, unnecessarily using cars or wasting electricity resulting in global warming, pollution, animals’ lives were put in danger, the detrimental after-effect of plastic and many more.

Because of the unawareness of how our doing might affect our own well-being and comfort, is contributing to the slow but steady destruction of the environment. Others might think that it is all nature’s doing and it was bound to happen sooner or later. Thus, they are not aware and cannot see how seriously damaged the planet is. Therefore no action is taken as they treat this as a trivial matter.

Taking all into consideration, I agree that humans, as the dominant creatures in both number and capability, should be accountant for what happens to our only living space. If we do not protect and appreciate our home and nature, as we were the one who has the most credits for the slow collapse of Earth, then no one else can do so. By this rate, extinction might come in the future.