If a product is good or it meets people's needs, people will buy it so advertising is unnecessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advertisements play a crucial role in our modern world. However, some people claim that it is unnecessary to advertise a product to customers if it is good enough or it meets people’s needs. I totally disagree with this opinion.

There are many reasons why advertising is important to people. To begin with, companies come up with several products nowadays, so it tends to be difficult for their customer to know all about the new product’s release information. Advertising brings benefits to buyers when it comes to enhancing people’s awareness of new product introductions. Without advertising, the purchaser might not know about better products, not only the quality but also the price. Secondly, ads help people to make comparisons such as features, price, quality and warranty, then benefit people in making a decision accordingly. Moreover, through advertising, corporations can inform their customer about the upcoming sale, when the customer can buy goods at a discounted price for a limited period.

By contrast, it can be seen that advertisement sometimes creates a nuisance for many people, such as disturbances in the form of calls, SMS and emails or pop-ups while watching online videos. In addition, adverts induce compulsive buying behaviour in some people, and often they buy things they do not really need.

In conclusion, I would like to recapitulate that advertisement is beneficial for a consumerist society to create awareness, and it is the responsibility of the consumer to be smart and not be allured by colourful adverts. Advertising is omnipresent and will always be a part of our modern life; we must live with it.