If children behave badly should their parents take responsibility and also be punished? State your answer and give your reasons. Or if a five year old commits a crime (any kind), should his/her parents accept responsibility and how should they be punished. What is the age of o child when parents no longer hove the responsibility of o child's behavior?

In the last few decades, there have been controversies surrounding crime conducted by youth, and whether or not their guardians should be held responsible. From my point of view, parents are the ones to be punished for the crime of their children. In the subsequent paragraphs I shall expound on my opinion, and bring forth a number of reasons in support of my idea.

First and foremost, it is needless to mention that parents are the sole reason why babies step foot in this world and only they are responsible for raising the children in such way that they go off the rail in the blossoming of their lives; therefore, it is within reason why caretakers should be legally held responsible for the misdeeds of their juniors. Additionally, if parents are held accountable for misbehavior of their child, they will consequently, make sure that the youngsters are well supervised and well taken care of at all costs.

Furthermore, it is admissible that the punishment should fit the crime. For instance, for a mere crime, paying a light fine can be suitable; and for the severe violations of rules, heavy fines or imprisonment could be justifiable. Moreover, parents cannot take responsibility of minors’ misdeeds constantly. Thus, it is in everyone’s interest to opt for an age after which children are amenable for their own actions. Since it is scientifically proven that brain development reaches its peak at age 18, juveniles reach their maturity at this point and can be hold reliable for their offences.

On the other hand, there are some who dispute such approach to the issue mentioned above. As far as they are concerned, parents are not to be sentenced for the crime of the juveniles, since in this modern life, there are numerous contributing factors to influence children to offend the society, such as peer pressure and media, particularly ,TV and the interned. Despite that, I firmly believe that if parents are given penalties on behalf of their children, crime rate would also alleviate. Hence no child would still break the law, if they knew their parents could be charged.

By way of conclusion, if we want a reduction in crime rate, we parent must take responsibility of their children’s wrong.