If old people are no longer physically, mentally or financially able to look after themselves, younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the world continues to develop, the idea revolving around whether young relatives should be legally responsible for supporting the elderly incapable of assisting themselves in several manners is becoming more and more pertinent. From my perspective, I completely disagree with the given statement and this essay will provide relevant illustrations to substantiate my view.

To commence with, it is apparent that familial bonds entail a moral obligation to support disadvantaged family members, especially seniors. By transforming an inherent moral duty to a legal mandate can raise ethical concerns. To commence with, not all family dynamics are healthy and supportive. In other words, some elderly individuals may have strained or negative relationships with their families. Consequently, forcing the younger generation to support reprehensible relatives can exacerbate psychological and physical distress to previously abused individuals. Moreover, it is unclear whether some members of the family have sufficient resources to provide adequate succour to their seniors. If the forced family is suffering from precarious financial situations or mental distress, imposing a legal compulsion can be disadvantageous to both parties.

Furthermore, several developed governments offer a comprehensive social welfare system to support the elderly. Senior individuals are people who have significantly committed their lives to working and paying taxes for their respective countries. Accordingly, it is only reasonable for the authorities to provide assistance for contributors of the nation.

In conclusion, while there may be some benefits in enforcing support for the elderly, I believe that it is entirely unfavourable for both parties for the aforementioned reasons.