If old people are no longer physically, mentally or financially able to look after themselves, younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is supposed that youngsters should be responsible for elderly individuals when they are no longer mentally, physically, or financially able to look after themselves, which is in line with legal enforcement. However, others argue that this can lead to some unintended consequences. In my opinion, I partially agree with this standpoint, for several reasons elucidated in this essay.

First and foremost, according to the principle of reciprocal support, it is the fundamental duty of younger family members to formalize their responsibility through legal means, partly to ensure consistency. In their childhood stages, parents are obliged to raise their children, irrespective of the situation, to become devoted citizens for the development of society. Likewise, their immense effort in nurturing should be paid tribute through spiritual support in various aspects of their lives. Moreover, the heightened expectation of life expectancy for senior individuals is akin to a corresponding rise in age-related ailments. The youngsters’ responsibilities are exalted more than ever through investing their money into medical treatment or amenities served for the elderly’s needs. This occurrence not only constitutes stronger family bonds but also promotes a culture of respect towards the older generation.

However, there are also existing challenges that can become a worrying issue for many youngsters. If the inability to uphold financial resources or a monetary budget deters them from providing adequate financial support for their descendants, coupled with physical limitations, then the quality of care can be subpar. Additionally, youngsters nowadays are under the pressure of standardization and exaggeration in working achievements, and their time would be mainly dedicated to future projects and working outcomes, regardless of familial care, resulting in rare visits to their old relatives.

From an objective standpoint, a great healthcare support stems from a sense of responsibility, willingness, and affection, which is not initially enacted in legal rules. Therefore, legal obligations for individuals to take care of their descendants place undue stress on them, leaving resentment and neglect.

In conclusion, while there are significant challenges for youngsters’ responsibilities to their descendants, viable solutions can be flexibly suggested to mitigate them. To enhance state support more effectively, family involvements should be encouraged through incentives rather than compulsion. This approach could not only help elderly people receive spiritual care but also reduce the financial and physical burden that younger family members shoulder