If you suddenly received a large sum of money, what would you do with it?

Not many people suddenly receive a large amount of money out of nowhere; and if that happened, I doubt that many would know what to do with it. Hence, I will try to answer that question in this essay. If I receive, say 25$ million miraculously, I will spend it on charitable organizations, arrange a vacation to the Maldives, and Invest in the stock market.

First and foremost, I truly believe that there’s no pursuit, regarding the expenditure of fund, more meaningful than giving them away to non-profit organizations and charities. Since you cannot hold on to your wealth when you pass on to the afterlife, I see no reason why any one individual would need to amass such a humongous amount of wealth and not do anything with it. Hence, the best thing to do with it is to help other people who are less fortunate than you. For instance, there are many organizations that I’d like to donate to, such as Doctor without border, which helps save lives during conflicts; UNICEF, which makes sure that help get across to children in need all around the world; and PSE, which is a non-profit organization dedicated to providing accommodations and education access to the orphans of Cambodia.

My second priority is to take a step back from my busy work-life and bring my entire family to a vacation in the Maldives. Never in my life have I ever gone on a vacation abroad. I’ve always wanted to go to the Maldives because I love beaches in general. I also want to try scuba-diving for the first time as well. I think I really deserve myself a trip to somewhere nice, if a miracle, such as 25$ million, ever befalls upon my life.

Last but not least, I would invest the remaining in the stock market for the purpose of fostering passive income. There are many companies’ stock that I want to buy, including Amazon, Netflix, Google…etc. Moreover, I also want to invest in initiatives that tackle the issue of climate change as well.

I am aware that amassing huge wealth does not directly equate to a meaningful life. But if it means that I can contribute to a safer and more prosperous world for everyone, including myself, then I will gladly dedicate my life to becoming a philanthropist.