Illiteracy has traditionally been viewed as largely a third world problem. However it is becoming apparent that in countries such as the USA and Australia, illiteracy is on the increase.

The illiteracy problem is gaining urgency globally and steadily.Most of people are used to believe that this phenomenon only appears in developing countries.However, this days it is also present in economically developed countries.The causes of this problem seem to lie in educational gaps, limited access to education and learning disabilities ; each of them requires a complex solution.

Firstly, the diffrence in the quality of education particulary in socioeconomical disadvantaged areas of developed countries can contribute to the rate of uneducated population.To address this cause properly there should be an encreased funding for education, to improve the quality of schools, teaching materials and teacher training as well.Individuals with learning disabilities may also face challanges when accuiring literacy skills. Thus, providing early screening and support for children with learning disabilities can help them overcome barrier to learning.

Secondly,even in developed countries, there are pockets of communities with limited access to quality education. For instance the republican states of the USA appear to be less educated due to the fact that economical focus is on agriculture.By implementing community outreach programs to identify and support individuals who may have missed out on formal education, providing adult education programs tailored to their needs.Additionally, the government should support workplace literacy programs to address the functional literacy needs of adults, ensuring they can participate fully in society.

In conclusion, combating illiteracy requires a comprehensive approach involving governmental reforms, communities, and individuals. By addressing these issues , it is possible to stop thia problem from spreading even more all over the world.