In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.Discuss both views

It is said that spending huge amount of money on building new railway lines between cities for faster transportation is important, in contrast others reckon the funds should be used to develop existing public transport. Although rapid communication between cities is a noteworthy task, however I take the view that accesible and developed urban transport system is more prioritize one as it enables an individual a better living.

From historical point, railway lines have been very important as they connected cities for fast transportantion. Even nowadays there is a tendency of developing high-speed trains. Take, for example, Japanese intercity railway lines. As a result of large investments, people can commute to different cities spending a couple of hours instead of days. Having said that, I still do not consider fast interurban trains as the most prioritize task, because it demands huge injections of funds, however a faster, cheaper and more reliable option exists like airplanes.

Living in the twenty-first century entails growth in population of cities. Consequently, there is a major transport collapse due to the automobiles abundance on city streets. It leads to huge concentration of exhaust gases in the atmosphere and overall pollution of cities. To fix this, new transport layers such as trolleys and trams can be implemented or the existing transport system can be improved. For instance, Paris authorities have developed complex transport infrastructure with bike and dedicated bus lanes. As a resut, it has helped to relieve the traffic , furthermore car exhaust emissions have dipped down. I agree that investing in improving existing public transport could lead to a significant improvement in the quality of citizens lives.

To conclude, although it is beneficial to develop intercity high-speed railway lines, it is not a first priority task as it consumes a lot of funding, morever other cheaper and faster alternatives are present. As opposite, investing money in already existing public transport can have favorable consequences on quality of people’s lives.