In an increasingly interconnected world, some advocate for a global curriculum that promotes shared values and understanding across cultures. Others argue that education should primarily focus on preserving and celebrating local traditions and identities. What are your thoughts?

In my opinion, I believe we should be as open as possible about shared values and understanding cultures all around the world.

My first and biggest reason is because the world itself is diverse. We all come from different backgrounds and cultures and not all of us share the same values and beliefs. Due to the differences between us, if we end up becoming close minded and only focus on one specific group, then other groups will feel forgotten, which should never be the norm. Education is something worldwide. It’s not just in a few local communities here and there. It’s everywhere. If something is global, then it’s gonna be treated it that way.

I myself would consider somebody with well experiences about this topic and nothing is more isolating then the feeling like you’re from another planet. People around me only focused on their community and not others. And I noticed the same with others who had the same experiences.

Secondly, since we’re all different from each other, then that means we have different ideas, which can result to discoveries and inventions. If we didn’t explore other parts of the world, we probably wouldn’t have the same world that we are living in today.