In an increasingly interconnected world, some advocate for a global curriculum that promotes shared values and understanding across cultures. Others argue that education should primarily focus on preserving and celebrating local traditions and identities. What are your thoughts?

In a world that is more connected than ever due to technological developements and more, some would argue that it would be beneficial to establish a global curriculum for primary and secondary education while others remain firm in the stance that education should portray local culture and values. In my opinion, it would be advantageous to have one global curriculum as it would ensure everyone is getting high quality education and is more likely to integrate better into university environment. However, not every country has the facillities or the staff trained to meet the new set standards.

Firstly, I think the main benefit of having a global curriculum is that students would more or less get the same quality education despite their place of residence. It would alllow students to be more comfortable integrating into the university atmosphere as everyone learnt the same things and one system was not better than the other. For example, some students leave their home countries to pursue higher education but struggle immensly as their foundation knowledge and basic skills are weak in some aspects, be it languages or maths. Furthermore, one united system would ensure that everyone has knowledge on the same things and there is no superiority based off of someone being raised in a developed country.

On the other hand, not every country has the teachers nor the resources requires to meet the standards of the global curriculum. It might require equipment such as interactive boards or taking students outside but not every country has the finances or the resources to facilitate these conditions. Additionally, having staff that meet global conditions might require teacher training programs or in some cases additional educational programs, not every nation can arrange this. As well as the fact that it would be challenging to ensure quality is maintained everywhere. The program itself might be very well developed but if the quality is not mainted equally as well then everything would prove to be futile. Moreover, there is truth in the fact that educatuion is used to preserve culture, a lot of countries integrate cultural values and history into their systems and this would be difficult because which culture would become the default that everyoner follows. Some cultures have completely opposing opinions and this might cause disputes.

In my opinion, I believe there should be guidelines set on what a good curriculum is.That is; encouraging children to think crititically and be curious could be established while simultaneously leaving room for countries to integrate cultural values and make adjustments based on the resources they possess. It would be incredibly difficult to establish one single curriculum for everyone as every nation has their own hurdles and opportunities. However, there are still benefits to having central guidelines on what schools can implement . It would allow easier adaptation in higher education and ideally good quality education no matter the country.