In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is prevalent in Britain that people move into old age homes after they get old. In some cases pay for their medical and aftercare bills, however, it has become a debatable issue whether the government or families should pay for the care. According to me, both should collectively pay both expenses because an individual pays taxes his whole life and also he spends most of his money on his family.

To begin with. the biggest reason that high authorities should pay some amount of aftercare expenses is the taxes that a person pays when he starts working. To be more precise, wages include heavy taxes and up to certain amount of money goes directly to the government that they then pays to cover health insurance. To exemplify, An article written by Miss, Shally Buzbee in 2021 stated that approximately 20% of a person’s wage directly goes to the government in the form of taxes or PF. Therefore, when the government is taking much higher taxes from its citizens, then they should receive aftercare at least to make the last year of life stress-free.

Moving further, families should take care of their family members and pay for their medical services in old age homes because parents take care of any need of a child from birth until they become vulnerable. Having said that, most people cannot afford to save money because of child expenses, even if it is their personal needs or their child’s education fees. To illustrate, research conducted by Harvard University,USA, on 500 families to know their biggest expenses, revealed that more than 300 families’ most expenses were children’s tuition fees and this is the reason that they may not have for their own last year of life.

To conclude, this is common in Britain that people spend their last years in old age homes. Even though the government pays that expense, I believe both their families and the government together should pay the bills as it is not only the responsibility of the government of the family and vice versa.