In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Unequivocally, every human being, as they age, begins to resemble a child who requires attention to survive. As a result, the concept of nursing homes is prevalent in today’s contemporary society. Most senior citizens prefer to live in those homes owing to better interaction and facilities. Some people opine that the government has a responsibility to pay for elderly care. Others argue that expenses should be borne by the family members. In my opinion, the onus is on the government to look after the senior citizens and support them financially.

To begin with, it is crucial for the government to look after its senior citizens as a token of gratitude due to the fact that the majority of the older adults have contributed to the country’s advancement and development by working for the government in different sectors. These senior citizens had devoted their entire lives to this cause. They had deposited chunks of money in government funds in the form of taxes throughout their working services, making them eligible for government assistance in times of need. These people have already paid enough taxes to the state government. So the government can try to pay back the money as monthly pensions to the senior citizens.

Further, the government should implement appropriate laws and pass bills that will provide financial assistance to senior citizens who are unable to pay their medical expenses. For instance, the Indian government has introduced different schemes which aid elderly people with their medical expenses. In addition, the government can establish exclusive senior citizen homes, well-equipped with the latest amenities at a reasonable cost for all the elderly. Thus, it’s the government’s bound obligation to take care of their retired population by covering their medical and nursing care expenditures.

Although the family can look after their elderly parents by covering their basic medical expenses, it’s the government’s responsibility to take care of the expensive medical treatments of the elderly by offering concessions.

To sum up, elderly individuals require assistance and nursing care. In my opinion, the government is stable enough to support its senior citizens financially, and it is the government’s responsibility to look after the elderly medical expenditure and nursing care.