In many cities around the world, traffic is a serious problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to improve the situation?

It is undoubtedly agreed that there are more traffic issues all over the world from year to year. This could be explained by the higher number of families owning more than one car, which they would rather use. Those problems could be resolved by some federal laws.

First and foremost, in recent research was found that in developed countries the number of cars per every thousand of population has increased. That is because wealthy families hold more than one car, and sometimes it is one car for each family member. People use their own cares pursuing comfort and availability, even though they spend extra time commuting from place to place, and cause heavy traffic jams on main road veins.

In order to solve these issue, governments should encourage use of public transportation by developing its strong infrastructure, creating conditions which allows efficient commuting between all the city areas. In that case more people could choose to use public means of transportation and not a private cares. Moreover, alongside with infrastructure development, higher taxation for buyers of second or more cars could decrease the share of families who buy more than one car. Should people opt to use buses and public trains, the traffic volumes are supposed to decrease gradually.

To sum up, the possible reasons for the raise of traffic jams in cities and towns are the higher number of cars in wealthy families, alongside the underdeveloped infrastructure of public means of transport. This problem could be possibly reviled on the federal level by enhanced laws of taxation for buyers second and more cares, and by appropriately developed availability of public transportation.