In many countries, a lot of food is wasted. Why do people waste food? How can we reduce the amount of food waste?

It is irrefutable that a huge amount of food is thrown wastefully. The aim of this essay is to explore the reasons behind this issue and propose a number of ways to tackle the situation.

The root causes of the issue derive from various aspects. To begin with, during manufacturing, there are some mistakes such as burned food, oversight in packaging or storage which do not meet food safety standards and cannot be marketed. Therefore, if the manufacturer is not careful in the production line, it is likely that there will be more and more leftover food. Another point to consider is that restaurants and consumers fail to consider and make plans for the appropriate amount of product they will consume. For instance, shoppers are frequently tempted to purchase items in bulk to attain lower prices due to their obsession with discounts. This could lead to an overabundance of foodstuffs, resulting in not fully utilizing and more leftovers.

This should be tackled by a number of effective solutions. For one, it is crucial to note that he improvement of the educational system by the government that might be beneficial in alleviating this problem is strongly advised. In this way, citizens will be well-informed about the worth of foodstuffs, detrimental impacts on the environment as well as in-depth information regarding starvation in various parts of the world. Thus, people may raise their awareness and appreciate the value of foodstuffs more. In addition, eateries ought to impose a heavy fine on their clients who can not finish the meals that they ordered. For example, a Chinese restaurant offering an all-you-can-eat buffet is charging customers £20 in ‘wastage’ if they leave dishes on their plates. This will encourage customers to take their demands into consideration, and then request a sufficient serving size, consequently a bulk of uneaten feed will be curbed.

In conclusion, overproduction and poor meal planning are two primary culprits of the cuisine issue occurring today. However, various efficient methods suck as creating shopping lists and enforcing penalization for leftovers can be adopted to tackle this problem.