In many countries, an increase in crime has been blamed on violent images on television and in computer and video games. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the years, many regions experienced an increase in crime rate that was blamed on television and in computers and video games for showing explicit or violent images. From my point of view, this is a reasonable accusation as these illustrations have an effect towards people’s mindset.

To begin with, the characteristics of the violent images in the virtual world are quite similar with the real world, however it is the opposite when authorities are involved. This made them feel the urge to try the actions in movies, which looked simple to get away from crime and looked cool, in the actual world. For example, a teenager shot a random policeman in the street because he just watched a movie that shot a police officer and ran away easily. Furthermore, most of these actions are also caused out of curiosity.

Moreover, video games encouraged players to commit crimes and illegal doings by giving tasks in the game with high reward. Players that are greedy and do not think further would believe that this can also be implemented in the real world. For instance, players might rob a bank as it is the same task he got on a video game that gave him a high reward of money. In addition, video games that allow users to meet with others can manipulate one another to do illegal actions.

In conclusion, I believe that violent or explicit illustrations shown in the virtual world can affect its viewers by letting them consume greed and pride themselves. Therefore, solutions to limit these images need to be thinked and implemented to drop the increasing crime rate.