In many countries, an increase in crime has been blamed on violent images on television and in computer and video games. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In a significant number of regions, the escalation of illicit activities is linked with visceral imagery in social media as well as with manipulation in virtual environments.

This essay intends to examine the merits of both sides before, outlining my final stance.

On the one hand, the consumption of interactive media can result in blurring the lines between reality and the virtual realm. For instance, first-person shooters, where individuals are rewarded with points or for committing offences. Moreover, the regular exposure of them promote a sense of emotional numbness, consequently provoking surge of a crime rate.

On the other hand, digital titles significantly enhance a player’s critical thinking and analysing abilities. A perfect example for it is detective and strategy-based games which strengthen problem-solving as well as resources management skills. Furthermore, it is widely considered that digital titles are only a safe outlet for releasing stress and anger.

In conclusion, regular utilization of virtual environment can have an effect on blurring the lines of a real life, on the contrary, virtual realms crucially strengthen skills of critical thinking and analysing abilities. So, the consumption of explicit content needs to be seriously controlled rather than restricted.