In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to the cities, so the population in countryside are decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative elopment?

An increasing number of rural people in many countries around the world are moving to cities and for that reason, the population in the countryside is decreasing. In my opinion, it is a positive development, as many people choose to move from the countryside or the suburbs to cities in attempts to find a better life. What I mean is that more and more young and thriving people often do not have the same opportunities as they would have in a bigger city.

From my view, many young people want an active life, a good higher education and a high paying job with comfortable environments and all these things are usually not available in the countrysides, and because of that young people are not able to live their perfect life. In addition, in my opinion, many new families want their newborn child or children to have a safe and a nurturing environment. For instance; many people, including families and young people, want to have a good school, a good hospital and other important emergency services near their houses or apartments, whereas countrysides may usually not provide all of these needs.

Though many young people and young families need to have all of the services mentioned earlier, many people also can not afford to live in a city, especially a one with at least a hospital near their house or apartment, so in this case the decision to live in a countryside doesn’t sound that bad.

Though young people nowadays need to live in a city, older people often prefer to live in a countryside, where it is quieter and the pace of life isn’t that fast in comparison to cities. From my experience, when I was a child, I used to live on suburbs with my grandparents and because of that, my parents could go to work and have more free time for themselves. Moreover, i have basically only good memories of living there, for the reason that my grandma used to always play games with me and read me books.

To sum up, in my opinion, I would say that when rural people move to cities, they are trying to find a better place to live, but of course it’s a pity when the culture and memories of a countryside is being slowly forgotten. So, from my view, it is mostly a positive development both for the government and the people, but life in a countryside is also not that bad.