In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, many people have a tendency of drifting to the cities instead of living in the countryside, which leads to the decrease of population in their hometown. This problem will have some negatives in socio-economic development process.

Firstly, this migration brings about a serious effect on the urban life as well as accompanying facilities. Firstly, there is great pressure on urban infrastructure when numerous citizens move to metropolitan areas for dwelling. For example, as more and more people flock to major cities, the demand for housing, transportation, healthcare, and education will grow rapidly accordingly which increases pressure on the urban facilities . Moreover, the quality of resident’s life declines because of the overwhelmed public services and the lack of public amenities.

What’s more, the massive exodus is harmful to agriculture in the country. While, in the cities, there are not enough vacancies provided to the citizens, the new flux of migration further causes the rise of urban employment rate but paradoxically creates the shortage of manpower working in the countryside. For example, rural regions which heavily depend on the agriculture are significantly affected by the shortage in labor force when most village dwellers are old folks so that their vital agricultural practices and knowledge are not able to pass to the next generation. Therefore, this not only leads to a significant reduction in agricultural productivity but also not able to build and maintain sustainable economic in these regions.

In conclusion, the decline in the countryside population because of the movement of people from rural to metropolitan areas has numerous negative influences. It is obvious that this is a dilemma for many countries both in promoting balanced regional development and providing incentives for the young to stay and preserve cultural heritage in rural areas.