In many countries around the world, shopping has turned into a form of entertainment rather than a way of getting what people need. Discuss the reasons behind this trend. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, shopping has rather evolved into a form of entertainment than just fulfilment of one’s clothing needs. A variety of reasons for this situation exist; for example, lack of time as friends choose to combine socialising and clothes purchase. Furthermore, it can serve as a retail therapy after a long week of hard work. I am inclined to believe that this is rather a positive occurrence, since there is nothing wrong about people spending time together while helping brands perform a good revenue.

Firstly, shopping might function as an additional opportunity to catch up with your best friend, whom you have not seen in months. Moreover, it saves up a lot of time, especially since work is taking up a lot of it. Another reason is that it makes you let go of all of the bad emotions that may have been collecting for the past month. People tend to think of shopping as a sort of entertainment due to their dedication of that time solely to themselves.

Second of all, the initiation of new kinds of entertainment has appeared as rather positive development due to a complete evolution into a tapestry of new activities. People are unique, everyone enjoys something else, and with that being said, the number of things to do with your loved ones should not be limited, allowing everyone to engage themselves in something they like, even if it is simply going shopping with your girlfriends.

To conclude everything stated above, entertainment opportunities should serve as the epitome of diversity and inclusivity. Hence, shopping being turned into a form of amusement has demonstrated itself as a positive occurrence since it allows people to combine two things at once and perform duties of psychological therapy.