In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion.

In many countries, life expectancy is increasing, and this reflects improvements in healthcare, sanitation, and nutrition, as well as general social progress. While in the past life expectancy was lower, nowadays many people hope to live to be 100 years old, thanks to the continuous research and the progress medicine is making.

The main advantage of increasing life expectancy in many societies is the improvement in the quality of life. Even old people can enjoy more years of good health, staying with family and helping the society, with, for instance, volunteer activities. Moreover, older workers can help young generations in many fields, like business, having had more experience. In my opinion, the advice of wiser people is very valuable and everyone should listen to them.

On the other hand, increasing life expectancy also has some disadvantages that can create problems or disagreements. The principle issue can be the inevitable generation difference between older and younger people. As a result, when people have different opinions about something, it is difficult to come to an agreement, especially when the society is constantly changing. In addition to this, one obvious negative effect of increasing life expectancy are the fewer younger workers, which means that it is harder for young people to find a job and gain experience without already having it.

I believe that the advantages of increasing life expectancy outweigh the drawbacks, but only if societies are able to accept that society and the world are changing everyday; in this way, increasing life expectancy can be a valuable resource. In conclusion, longer life expectancy reflects a modern society, and even if it presents challenges, living longer is one of the most important successes of modern society.