in many countries around the world, rural people tend to leave the countryside and live in cities so the population in country side is decreasing. is this positive or negative development?

In several countries, people are moving from countryside to cities worldwide, which causes the population of the countryside to decrease. Mainly, this causes negative development where the population in the cities increases dramatically too as more people come to live there.

Rural people may have many reasons for leaving the countryside. Living in the city offers them more advantages than living in a rural area. In the city, generally people tend to have a better social life, better means of transportation, and most importantly better job opportunities. Job opportunities play crucial role in the decision of leaving the countryside. Often people in the countryside works in agriculture which may not be a well-paid job, besides its too tiring especially in hot temperatures. If they moved to the city, they could get more paid jobs, with less physical-based work. More money means a better life, better food, better medical care and other important aspects.

Although the advantages mentioned may be crucial for an individual, when monitoring its impact on the society, the negative impacts can overlap their positives. More people leaving the countryside causes less people working in the agriculture field and less agriculture-based food generally. Agriculture is very crucial for the health of people and the industrial field too. Also, the overpopulation caused in the city by more people leaving rural areas affects the other citizens. It causes more pressure on the government to provide more needs for more individuals in a certain area and the city becomes crowded. To solve that, maybe the government could assign more money and services for people in rural areas, so they don’t leave.

In conclusion, people shouldn’t just leave the countryside for a better life while thinking of their own gain. They should start looking for solutions to cover all their needs without causing imbalance in their country’s population.