In many countries, childhood obesity is a growing problem. What are the reasons for this and what can individuals and governments do to tackle the problem?

Childhood obesity has become a massive problem in various countries. This essay will determine why this problem is occurring and what the solution is.

To begin with, an enormous amount of youngsters are dealing with a lack of exercise and a healthy lifestyle. One of the main reasons for this is that they usually tend to spend every second of their free time scrolling social media platforms, such as YouTube Shorts and Instagram Reels. Due to the addictiveness of social media posts, they are more likely to watch them again and again and stay in the same position for a long time. In modern society, people determine some Gen Alpha kids as “iPad kids” for this reason. Moreover, the junk food industry has taken a massive place nowadays. For instance, the average kid in the U.S. eats a McDonald’s burger at least once a week. In addition, in China, there is research about obesity among Chinese kids. The result was very surprising: nearly 30 per cent of youngsters have the condition.

On the other hand, I firmly believe obesity is a problem that can be easily solved if individuals, parents, and governments try their best. They should take action such as reducing their children’s usage of sugar and fast food. Furthermore, parents should limit their children’s access to addicting YouTube videos and games. To take an example, China has already started taking action by limiting the usage of applications based on user’s age.

In conclusion, one of the widely discussed issues nowadays is childhood obesity. To reduce it, we should take care of these children who are developing an addiction to inappropriate, unhealthy lifestyles.