In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Young individuals in numerous developed countries tend to be overweight and unhealthy at present. Many citizens concur that the government has the responsibility to overcome this difficulty. I partly agree with this because, in my view, weight loss is a healthy habit that starts with young people.

There is no denying that being overweight stems from unhealthy eating habits, which play a crucial role in weight gain. Eating a well-balanced diet – which begins with young individuals, for instance, by eating a balanced diet and consuming appropriate portions – can help the body reduce the risk of illness and increase feelings of fullness, which reduces calorie intake for the day. Besides, healthy proteins, good fats, and whole-grain vegetables play a significant role in a well-balanced diet. For example, eating more vegetables and fruits can boost metabolism in the digestive system, and healthy proteins provide robust energy for building muscle. Playing sports plays one of the most significant roles in staying healthy; it helps us reduce our daily calorie intake. For instance, numerous scientific reports state that gym-goers and sports enthusiasts have better health, which leads to no underlying health conditions in old age.

It is assumed that the government has some responsibility to solve this problem. We cannot deny that closing all fast-food restaurants is not feasible, but the government should increase taxes on junk-food establishments to reduce the number of customers while simultaneously lowering taxes on healthier items like vegetables, meat, and fish. In addition, organizing sporting events, such as running events also contributes to the decline of this issue.

In conclusion, while government support plays a small part in weight loss and healthy living, the most important factor lies in each individual’s lifestyle, eating habits, and exercise routine.