In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In several nations, young people work different kinds of jobs and get money. While it is argued that such practices have negative impacts on children’s health because they may get exposed to dangerous tasks, others and I believe that youngsters can develop some personal skill, that are fundamental in the future.

On the one hand, there are various types of work that are harmful to children. In other words, young people have weak bodies and cannot perform hard work from carrying heavy loads and being exposed to chemical components, which may develop serious diseases. Moreover, in developing countries, some parents take advantage of their youngsters and force them to work and get money. For example, in some African countries, children work for tile factories and get exposed to cement and chemical mixtures, which may cause lung cancer. However, if governments regulate children’s working programs, they will learn various skills that will be necessary later in their lives.

On the other hand, teaching young people to be responsible for doing some work may instill in them self-dependence and give them a sense of competition to achieve their tasks efficiently. To explain, if youngsters are asked to implement a particular task in a certain time, they will be encouraged to perform it efficiently and feel a sense of victory when they complete it. A prime example is Egypt, where many enterprises set up internship programs for school students and allocate them simple tasks, such as filing and archiving. Those children may get used to punctuality, which is important in their working lives.

In conclusion, although some jobs may harm children’s health, working at an early age has great value and may instill in them great skills, which will be necessary in the future.