In many countries, children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Children are engaged in various types of paid work in many nations. Some people argue that it is utterly wrong, while others think that it adds on to their work experience at an early age. I agree with later point and will show that, despite some concerns about its effects on their education, working at young age can help them grow better as a person.

Some people believe that children at young age should not be involved in any kind of labour work as it can negatively impact their education. The kind of lessons children learn at school cannot be taught by a paid job when they are below 18. And this situation can not only put pressure on them to study in the limited time but also it can adversely affect their academic performance. For example, a UK children’s charity found that children who work part time are less likely to achieve higher grades than those who did not. However, I believe the lessons children can learn from working are invaluable.

Working as a part timer can help youngsters develop a good character in future. This is to say that, managing a part time job and studying can help youngsters learn about time management skills. Moreover, working can enhance their performance by inculcating good communication, handling peer pressure and how to deal with different types of humans. Such experience will prepare them to be a better person not only in their personal life but also in professional life. For instance, a teenager working in a restaurant for few hours at the weekend can learn how to interact with the general public without their academic performance being negatively affected. For this reason, I think that concerns about work’s negative effects on education are unfounded.

In conclusion, despite of having few adverse effects of working during adolescent age, children can grow exponentially to be a good character which will further help them to be the best in their professional career.