In many countries, coffee chains are expanding rapidly, which some claim threatens the survival of small local cafes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a prevailing belief that the survival of small local cafes is threatened by the growing popularity of coffee chains. There is little doubt in my mind that coffee chains would be predominant in these fields.

On the one hand, many people believe that small local cafes can define their position in the selling cafe fields . In fact, a local cafe is prevailing for the personalized experience, striking in their spaces and their flavours. They offer a unique atmosphere, which suits the local culture and can be more popular with the residents. The flavour is also the most worthy mention, while local cafes have the flexibility to tailor their menu. In this way, more receipts may be changed to suit their customer groups, bringing a satisfying individual experience. In order to achieve this, it requires massive cost for the coffee shop, so in the long run they would find it difficult to maintain the quality.

On the other hand, it is understandable why coffee chains are becoming more popular. Obviously, supply expenditure may not put significant pressure on them, because large quantities of commodities allow them to benefit from lower prices compared with purchasing smaller quantities. As a result, coffee chains can offer more discount schemes, which enable their customers to purchase products at more affordable prices. Nowadays, people prioritize beverages that have more friendly-budget, and also prestige so they will tend to use drinks from some coffee brands. Moreover, coffee chains not only focus on competitive pricing but also ensure product quality and offer the latest popular flavours to a wide range of customers.

In conclusion, while there are valid reasons for the belief that small local cafes could survive due to their individual experience, I would contend that the coffee chains can replace it soon because of their benefits.